The CAHSI Student Scholars Leadership Program (SSLP) is a program dedicated to CAHSI Scholars. Every year, CAHSI names students from CAHSI institutions who have demonstrated contributions and continued commitment to impact their community and advance their computing knowledge and skills. Scholars are announced during a ceremony at the annual Great Minds in STEM conference, where they receive a CAHSI Scholar pin and a monetary award from Google, the CAHSI Scholar sponsor.

SSLP is part of a larger CAHSI initiative to build inclusive learning environments at CAHSI institutions. The program empowers CAHSI Scholars to become agents of change by providing them with the training, tools, and practices needed to support diverse and inclusive environments.

CAHSI Student Scholar Pin
CAHSI Student Scholar pin

A CAHSI Scholar is a student who embodies a spirit of tech exploration, inclusiveness, and community.

The 2019-2020 class of SSLP students are:

Andrew Garcia
Texas A&M University Corpus Christi
Electrical Engineering

Bianca Alvarez
University of Texas at El Paso
Computer Science

Eva Ruiz
University of Houston Downtown
Computer Science

Pedro Luis Rivera Gomez
University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez
Computer Engineering

Raul Alejandro Vargas Acosta
University of Texas at El Paso
Computer Science

Wendy Ortiz Contreras
California State University Dominquez Hills
Computer Technology Homeland Security